New ISU logo

New ISU logo

Editor’s note: Idaho State University had to cancel its 68th annual Samuel Horne Bennion Banquet, which honors student-athletes representing all of ISU’s sports, because of the coronavirus pandemic. The school’s sports information department is announcing each team’s award winners throughout April and May.


Player of the Year Sponsored by Mark and Anne Bennion: Angela Walker, sr.

Notes: Ranked No. 8 in singles in the Big Sky Conference with a 7-4 record. ... Ranked No. 1 at No. 2 doubles with partner Alexandra Arkhipov with a 6-1 record. ... Was named the conference player of the week on Jan. 29.

True Grit Award Sponsored by Kristie Bennion Taylor: Melissa Coburn, sr.

Notes: Team leader and co-president of the Idaho State Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). ... Ranked No. 6 in the conference at No. 3 doubles with partner Madison Fenske.

The remaining teams’ awards will be announced on the following dates:

May 18: Softball

May 22: Men’s outdoor track and field

May 25: Women’s outdoor track and field

May 29: Women’s golf

June 2: Scholar athlete