Car winner

Pocatello resident Wendy Marlatt won a 2019 Toyota RAV4, courtesy of Phil Meador Toyota, by hitting a hole-in-one on Hole 16 during the Idaho State University Football Alumni Team Golf Scramble that took place at the Highland Golf Course in Pocatello on Saturday.

POCATELLO — Pocatello resident Wendy Marlatt achieved something this weekend that no one else has been able to do.

She sunk a ball into Hole 16 with only one stroke during the Idaho State University Football Alumni Team (F.A.T.) Golf Scramble that took place at the Highland Golf Course on Saturday. And she won a new vehicle for achieving the feat.

“It’s awesome,” said Marlatt, who has been playing golf for many years but has only managed to hit one other hole-in-one in her life. “I’m still in awe about it.”

Holes-in-one are hard enough to come by, but Marlatt’s was a particularly difficult shot.

She hit the ball 145 yards, uphill and over the water on Saturday, said Don Neves, who chairs the golf scramble.

“It’s exciting,” he said, adding that they’ve been trying to give away a car for a hole-in-one on Hole 16 during their event for approximately a decade.

“She is the first one,” Neves said.

Phil Meador Toyota and Teton Toyota serve as the major sponsors for the golf scramble, and Phil Meador Toyota provided the winning vehicle this year: a 2019 Toyota RAV4.

Marlatt says she plans to keep the vehicle and drive it everywhere.

“I’ve never had a brand new car,” she said.

Marlatt says she and her team — Danielle Mabey, Lynsey Nielsen and Jenn Durham — have been playing in the event for many years.

“It’s fun. We always have a good time,” she said.

Although Marlatt is not an ISU alumni, she enjoys playing in the golf scramble that raises funds for the F.A.T. Endowed Football Scholarship and Summer School Football Scholarships. And she says she appreciates her team, her sponsor, L.D. Bartholme, those who organize the event and, of course, Phil Meador Toyota.

Nearly 200 people participated in this year’s event, Neves said, adding that they were divided into teams of four and played in morning or afternoon flights.

Neves is still trying to determine exactly how much they raised this year, but he’s grateful to all of those who supported the event through their donations and participation.

“We’d like to give a big F.A.T. thank you to all the sponsors, all the people who participated and the numerous volunteers who made this a great success,” Neves said.

Here’s a closer look at some of the other golfers who earned golf awards during the event:

AM Flight

First — Dave Lowry, Cayston Pickens, Cory Sherman and Ryan Smith

Second — Taylor Smith, Jason Chapman, Tadd Roubidoux and Jared Wilhelm

PM Flight

First — Jason Meador, Casey Allen, Roger Cooper and Pat Henry

Second — Bruce Givens, Ed Bowmer, Mike Brady and Marty Fehringer

Other awards

Long Drive, Women, Hole 2 — Kris Fenwick

Long Drive, Men, Hole 11 – George Capson

Closest to the Pin, Hole 5 — Kelly Harris

Closest to the Pin, Hole 13 — Ryan Ward