Adkin, Kody MSU

Idaho State’s Kody Graves (38) and Adkin Aguirre (12) bring down Montana State quarterback Troy Andersen during their 2018 game at Holt Arena.

Idaho State seniors Mitch Gueller, Kody Graves and Adkin Aguirre were named to the preseason all-Big Sky Conference football teams. The preseason all-conference teams were voted on by the league’s media and announced Monday.

The preseason honor is the second this summer for Gueller, who was also tabbed a preseason FCS All-American by HERO Sports. The two-time first-team all-Big Sky wide receiver enters his senior season 225 yards away from becoming the leading receiver in ISU history.

Graves earned third-team all-conference honors after last season, when he racked up 83 tackles over 10 games at linebacker.

Aguirre earned honorable mention all-conference recognition at safety after tying for the team lead with three interceptions last season.

UC Davis senior quarterback Jake Maier was named the preseason offensive MVP. Montana senior linebacker Dante Olson is the preseason defensive MVP.

2019 preseason all-conference selections

Preseason Offensive MVP: Jake Maier, QB, UC Davis

Preseason Defensive MVP: Dante Olson, LB, Montana


QB: Jake Maier, Sr., UC Davis

WR: Mitch Gueller, Sr., Idaho State

WR: Samuel Akem, Jr., Montana

WR: Jared Harrell, Jr., UC Davis

OT: Mitch Brott, Sr., Montana State

OT: Chris Schlichting, Sr., Eastern Washington

OG: Noah Johnson, Sr., Idaho

OG: Ty Whitworth, Jr., Weber State

C: Zach Larsen, Sr., Southern Utah

TE: Charlie Taumopeau, Sr., Portland State

RB: Josh Davis, So., Weber State

RB: Elijah Dotson, Jr., Sacramento State

FB: Troy Andersen, Jr., Montana State

PK: Trey Tuttle, Jr., Weber State

RS: Rashid Shaheed, Jr., Weber State


DT: Jalen Goss, Sr., Northern Arizona

DT: Kenton Bartlett, Sr., Portland State

DE: Adam Rodriguez, Sr., Weber State

DE: Jonah Williams, Jr., Weber State

OLB: Auston Tesch, Sr., Weber State

OLB: Bryce Sterk, Sr., Montana State

ILB: Dante Olson, Sr., Montana

ILB: Kody Graves, Sr., Idaho State

CB: Khalil Dorsey, Sr., Northern Arizona

CB: Greg Filer, Sr., Montana State

S: Adkin Aguirre, Sr., Idaho State

S: Brayden Konkol, Sr., Montana State

P: Cade Coffey, Jr., Idaho

ST: Jace Lewis, Jr., Montana