2019 election logo

Bannock County Elections Administrator Julie Hancock anticipates voter turnout will be strong today based on the large number of residents who cast their ballots in early voting.

Hancock said 1,493 early votes were cast in Bannock County — barely shy of the 1,505 early votes cast in 2017, when the Pocatello mayor’s race was on the election ballot.

The county has received more than triple the number of early votes as in 2015, which was the last off-year election without a Pocatello mayor’s race on the ballot.

For information about the candidates, click on the “general election day” link at idahostatejournal.com.

In Pocatello, a dozen candidates are running for three open seats on the City Council.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Idaho allows voters to register at the polls by bringing an ID and a piece of mail to verify their residency. Bannock County has posted an interactive map at bannockcounty.us/elections/ that allows people to ascertain their precinct numbers and voting places by address or by clicking on an area of town.

In seat No. 1 of the Pocatello City Council, incumbent Jim Johnston will face challengers Paul Schmidtlein, Dale Spencer and Christine Stevens. In seat No. 2, which was vacated when Councilwoman Beena Mannan decided against seeking reelection, Lance Kolbet, Claudia Ortega and Colton Peterson are running. In seat No. 3, incumbent Roger Bray is facing Idaho Lorax, Ethan Ennis, Arlen Walker and Don Zebe.

In Chubbuck, Dan Heiner is running against Darell Steward for a council seat.

Two races are contested on the Pocatello-Chubbuck School District 25 Board of Trustees. James Facer will run against Eric Lee Stewart in Zone 3 and Oliver Ormsby Ahmu will run against Idaho Lorax and incumbent Paul Vitale in Zone 4.

Residents in Inkom will elect a new mayor and two City Council representatives. The current mayor, Joel Jolley, is running for a City Council seat this year along with Marshall Brown, Jason Hooker, Tracie Montgomery and Teresa Norton. Incumbents Max Shaffer and Boyd Clark aren’t seeking reelection to the council. However, Shaffer is running against Gerrad Montgomery for the mayoral seat.

Residents in Lava Hot Springs will choose two City Council representatives. Incumbent Brian Hinz is running, along with Randy Benglan, Matazie Hobbs and James Page. Jon Thomson, who currently holds the other City Council seat, is running uncontested for mayor.

Voters in Lava Hot Springs will also be asked to decide whether non-property tax revenues should also be used for land acquisition and municipal building construction, according to the ballot.

In McCammon, voters will elect three City Council representatives. Newcomers Pam Bissegger and Stephanie Iverson are both running for the two-year seat. Incumbent Sandra Barnby is not seeking reelection. Incumbents Steve Campbell and Dale Kinloch are both seeking reelection to their four-year seats. Bill Bordeaux is also vying for one of the positions.

In Downey, incumbent Gary Barnes is running along with Larry Burden, John Cutright, Bonnie Hill, John Hyde and Kirk Price, who is a former council member. Rex Nielsen, who is also on the council, is running uncontested for mayor this year.

In the Marsh Valley School District, Jill Gunter and Kurt Willis are vying for the Zone 2 position. Roger Morris, who currently holds the seat, is not seeking reelection. Incumbent Don Nielsen is running against Shelly Jones for the Zone 4 seat.

Power County Clerk Sharee Sprague said her county’s early and absentee voting was more than double normal turnout for an off-year election.

Power County voters will consider a bond of up to $2.95 million that would go toward the further construction of the Power County Hospital in American Falls. The hospital, which has been undergoing renovation since an earlier bond was passed in 2017, is in need of additional funds after construction costs increased by an unexpected 25 percent.

{p class=”p1”}The American Falls election, which has three open spots for City Council, has six candidates in the running including incumbent members Terrell Sorenson, Kristen Jensen and Blanca Mendez. Also in the running are Jason Povey, Lillie Ruiz Wright and Curry Andrews.

{p class=”p1”}In Rockland, members of the community will vote for the positions of mayor and two City Council seats. Rockland Mayor Ed Hansen is seeking reelection against Keith Elliot. For City Council, incumbents Joe Jones and Ladd Permann and newcomer Jared Thomkinson are running.